PDA

View Full Version : Drum solos

progdirjim
11-23-2001, 01:20 AM
There's been a few comments in various threads about drum solos recently. So I'm wondering what everybody thinks about them. I am a drummer, so I'm always willing to listen to a solo just to check out what a drummer's doing.

But, I've always thought that drum solos should fit into the song their played in, and make a musical statement, rather than be a clinic, or a brag sheet for the drummer performing it.

Given the previous paragraph, I find that most drum solos that are recorded are one of the following (in this order):
self indulgent
good moments with lots of filler
noisy
boring

exceptions:
the 30 second solo in "Hours" by FM - my idea of a perfect drum solo
the solo in "eighteen" by Pat Metheny (if we haven't got it on the station yet, we will soon)
almost anything by Carl Palmer or Neil Peart
some of Alan White's stuff
part of Phil Ehart's solo on "Incomudro"

and there's probably more but it's late on Thanksgiving, and I'm tired. Comments? I'd especially love to hear about solos that are technically good AND fit into the song...

Yesspaz
11-27-2001, 02:55 PM