PDA

View Full Version : Musicians or non musicians

Andyyyy
02-21-2006, 01:55 PM
Hi All,
I'm not new to AM, but I am new to the forum, and I like what I see here! I don't do too many forums, just not enough time in the day to do that and to listen to or play music. Since prog is such a different type of music from others (except maybe jazz and classical) in that it's more complex, I wonder if the percentage of musicians here is higher than say, on a country site, or hip hop, or fill in the ____________________.

I guess I'll start off saying that I am a musician, though I started later in life, so I am not as good now as I could have been if I did continue those piano lessons in 4th grade.

Also, what other types of music do prog fans listen to. I tend to like only prog, jazz, or classical.

:rockband:

Andy

Rick and Roll
02-21-2006, 02:17 PM
I am a non-musician. I played Baritone in school, only because everyone was steered away from Trumpet.:hrm:

I'd guess you'd find more musicians than not here, but probably not more than other forums.

However, I do have some interesting and annoying attributes, none of which pays the bills:

I can recognize a song in very few notes. I can recite complete song orders from a lot of records. I know a lot of times of songs.:aua:

As for other genres, I love hard rock and power pop, if they're done without sounding forced. Bands like the Smithereens, Dada..that I can do. A lot of "Neo"...nah. Same with hard rock (I despise the term heavy metal). I like Maiden, Priest. Not so with a lot of prog-metal.

I grew up with funk too, and still like R & B.

But not straight rap or most country.

RogorMortis
02-21-2006, 03:25 PM
I'll join in as a non musician.