PDA

View Full Version : Marillion, Genesis, what's next ???

dagallardo75
09-04-2003, 03:24 PM
I need your advice for what another progressive rock band to hear, for orientation my favorites are marillion and genesis (all stages), is there another music group like those

Please giveme yours recomendations !!!!

(sorry for the english but I am just learning)

KeithieW
09-04-2003, 06:58 PM
Try some early IQ.

Especially "The Wake"!!!!!

Rick and Roll
09-04-2003, 09:05 PM
Discipline
Flower Kings

how many others do you know?

ivan_2068
09-04-2003, 11:58 PM
If you want something in the same line, the natural step would be Pendragon , Neo Prog as Marillion with a good keyboardist (Clive Nolan) who plays very much like Tony Banks in Genesis 4 men era.

From all their albums I would try Masquerade Overture , probably their best, if I'm not wrong (probably I am :D ) Pendragon is one of the last bands to use good old Mellotron.

If you want something more complex than Neo Prog' you could try Magenta , their only album "Revolutions" is really good, like a mixture of Yes and Genesis with a female vocalist that sounds almost like Stevie Nicks (Christina Murphy).

Iván

KeithieW
09-05-2003, 12:43 PM
Pendragon are an Ace band.

Good songs great musicians and nice guys too.

"Illuvator" are worth a listen too dagallardo75. They have a very good Hammond keyboard sound and a vocalist who could be Fish or Gabriel on another day. Check them out on the AM playlist.

Rick and Roll
09-05-2003, 01:02 PM
These guys all live within a 10-mile radius of me, and I've seen them about 20-30 times, almost exclusively in ultra-small venues (except for the one Nearfest). Echolyn and Iluvatar are two bands that I've had the priviledge (sp?) of seeing when they were just starting out.

A good choice, Keith, although I haven't lived that "day" you are referencing. That's pretty rarefied air.