Go Back   Aural Moon - Progressive Rock Discussion > Prog Rock Discussion > General Discussion/Prog News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2005, 05:13 PM
Avian's Avatar
Avian(Admin) Avian is offline
Owner Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Yellow Springs, OH, USA
Posts: 819
Send a message via ICQ to Avian Send a message via AIM to Avian Send a message via Yahoo to Avian
Chat Revisited

Okay - it looks like for the new website, we'll have to get a new chat system. I'm going to post several different chat demos in this thread - I'd appreciate it if folks could try and use these chats, and see what happens, and which ones you prefer. Keep in mind that these chat systems will automatically logged in with your user name when it's integrated into the Aural Moon site in the end.

When you describe if the chat works, or doesn't, please list your:

computer type & speed
internet connection type
web browser

Thanks for the help! Also, if you find a chat system out there that you'd think we'd like to use, post it here!

Avian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2005, 05:30 PM
Avian's Avatar
Avian(Admin) Avian is offline
Owner Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Yellow Springs, OH, USA
Posts: 819
Send a message via ICQ to Avian Send a message via AIM to Avian Send a message via Yahoo to Avian
first one to try out

Try:

FlashChat (Flash must be installed). Username: Guest Pass: Guest

There are other chats that aren't out there yet. I'll post a link to that soon once they're stable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2005, 06:07 PM
KeithieW's Avatar
KeithieW KeithieW is offline
The London Headbanger
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,972
I'm probably being dumb but.....

Tried Flashchat and was told that user called Guest was already logged in...........

PC Pentium( R ) 4 CPU 3.00Ghz (Using MS Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2)
2.99 Ghx 1Gb Ram

1 mg Broadband

AOL

**************************************************

Tried again after poda left. Seems very similar to one we used to have on the home Page a while back.

that didn't get to many fans among the morning crew I seem to remember. I thought it was OK though.........but then I'm English and use a PC
__________________
KeithieW
*************************
Nous sommes du soleil
We are of the sun. We can see!

Last edited by KeithieW : 10-03-2005 at 06:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2005, 06:09 PM
podakayne's Avatar
podakayne podakayne is offline
Patron
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: washington, the state
Posts: 1,430
flash chat

macintosh G4, OS 10.3.9, firefox 1.0.4 browser. DSL line i believe.

seems to work fine, however i was there by myself.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2005, 08:15 PM
jnighting's Avatar
jnighting jnighting is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Liverpool, New York
Posts: 164
Windows XP Professional.........Pentium 4..........3.2........2 gig RAM.....Right now.......extremely varied broadband. Works well, no problem logging in but as with Poda........all by myself.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2005, 08:19 PM
jnighting's Avatar
jnighting jnighting is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Liverpool, New York
Posts: 164
Forgot my browser........ Mozilla/Firefox at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-03-2005, 10:20 PM
Rick and Roll's Avatar
Rick and Roll Rick and Roll is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Baltimore suburbs
Posts: 5,039
I clicked on the link, and was there with aaa and punkais....i knew neither. i asked "where am I" and one said "in a chat room". Then they left. Quite strange.

I have windows xp.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-03-2005, 11:02 PM
Yesspaz's Avatar
Yesspaz Yesspaz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 3,134
Re: Chat Revisited

Quote:
Originally posted by Avian
computer type & speed
internet connection type
web browser
Seemed to work great and looks way better than white room. However, I was alone, and I don't like the various noises and buzzers - distracts from the music. I didn't check but if the sounds can be turned off - it's got my vote.

Cable modem, IE, Dell Dimension 8200. I have no idea about my speed or even how to find out
__________________
Feels like I'm fiddling while Rome is burning down.
Think I'll lay my fiddle down, take a rifle from the ground!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2005, 07:21 AM
VAXman's Avatar
VAXman(Admin) VAXman is offline
progger propellerhead
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Presently reside in Jackson (southern) NJ (20 miles east of NEARfest 2002 & 2003
Posts: 2,356
Send a message via AIM to VAXman Send a message via Skype™ to VAXman
Re: first one to try out

Quote:
Originally posted by Avian
Try:

FlashChat (Flash must be installed). Username: Guest Pass: Guest

There are other chats that aren't out there yet. I'll post a link to that soon once they're stable.
This works nicely Avian. You can customise the font size which is nice for those of us that have been around since the early days of rock-n-roll.

My only concern is that it is Flash... very CPU intensive.
__________________
VAXman -- Watcher of the moon, watcher of all.
----------------Mopper of the moon, mopper of all.
-------------------- Aural Moon's Janitorial Services
---------------------and Restroom Supplies, and Techno-patsy --

Cogito ergo iMac.         
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-04-2005, 10:24 AM
Avian's Avatar
Avian(Admin) Avian is offline
Owner Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Yellow Springs, OH, USA
Posts: 819
Send a message via ICQ to Avian Send a message via AIM to Avian Send a message via Yahoo to Avian
Flashchat - it seems to use a littel CPU intensive, but on my little 1 GHz PC, it was OK. It's a memory hog, that's for sure. We'll have to test it again to be sure.

Try this one - it looks a lot like SP Chat:

X7 Chat
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-04-2005, 10:28 AM
Bob Lentil's Avatar
Bob Lentil Bob Lentil is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 238
Re: Re: first one to try out

Quote:
Originally posted by VAXman
My only concern is that it is Flash... very CPU intensive.
I just tried it out on my 333 MHz P2 (broadband, IE). All of my actions had about a 3 second delay. I rarely use the chat, so I personally don't care, but some people using similarly ancient machines might find it a bit sluggish.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-04-2005, 10:58 AM
Avian's Avatar
Avian(Admin) Avian is offline
Owner Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Yellow Springs, OH, USA
Posts: 819
Send a message via ICQ to Avian Send a message via AIM to Avian Send a message via Yahoo to Avian
Re: Re: Re: first one to try out

Quote:
Originally posted by Bob Lentil
I just tried it out on my 333 MHz P2 (broadband, IE). All of my actions had about a 3 second delay. I rarely use the chat, so I personally don't care, but some people using similarly ancient machines might find it a bit sluggish.
Hey Bob!


Good lord! 333 MHz P2? Well, I think around 1 GHz P5/AMD is probably the "base" system that I'll go with - that's just too old to try and gear it towards.

What browser are you using, pray tell? I can't believe Flash even runs on your machine.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-04-2005, 11:15 AM
Bob Lentil's Avatar
Bob Lentil Bob Lentil is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 238
Re: Re: Re: Re: first one to try out

Quote:
Originally posted by Avian
What browser are you using, pray tell? I can't believe Flash even runs on your machine.
Internet Explorer 6. I can get by alright on most flash websites provided they don't try anything too fancy. I agree that my system is probably too old to gear towards.

Last edited by Bob Lentil : 10-04-2005 at 11:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-04-2005, 11:45 AM
RogorMortis's Avatar
RogorMortis RogorMortis is offline
Patron
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 699
FLASH

Flash - Bang

Got in OK but did something so the whole page zoomed in and I had get difficulty in seeing the panel on the right.

Has advantages over SP chat but lacks the nickname possibility

Feels like the old chat on the website and I wonder if it's stable

Don't bother if its CPU hungry - not worth it

The day Vax has no reservations about anything I'll have a heart attack and drop dead.

I have a XP 3 Ghz machine with 1 Giga RAM running XP and Explorer
__________________
Beware of the Spanish Inquisition,coming to a town NEAR you
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-04-2005, 01:20 PM
VAXman's Avatar
VAXman(Admin) VAXman is offline
progger propellerhead
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Presently reside in Jackson (southern) NJ (20 miles east of NEARfest 2002 & 2003
Posts: 2,356
Send a message via AIM to VAXman Send a message via Skype™ to VAXman
Quote:
Originally posted by Avian
Flashchat - it seems to use a littel CPU intensive, but on my little 1 GHz PC, it was OK. It's a memory hog, that's for sure. We'll have to test it again to be sure.

Try this one - it looks a lot like SP Chat:

X7 Chat
I like this because it's lean... and it works with Safari... unlike SPChat.
__________________
VAXman -- Watcher of the moon, watcher of all.
----------------Mopper of the moon, mopper of all.
-------------------- Aural Moon's Janitorial Services
---------------------and Restroom Supplies, and Techno-patsy --

Cogito ergo iMac.         
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-04-2005, 01:26 PM
VAXman's Avatar
VAXman(Admin) VAXman is offline
progger propellerhead
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Presently reside in Jackson (southern) NJ (20 miles east of NEARfest 2002 & 2003
Posts: 2,356
Send a message via AIM to VAXman Send a message via Skype™ to VAXman
Re: FLASH

Quote:
Originally posted by RogorMortis
Flash - Bang

Got in OK but did something so the whole page zoomed in and I had get difficulty in seeing the panel on the right.

Has advantages over SP chat but lacks the nickname possibility

Feels like the old chat on the website and I wonder if it's stable

Don't bother if its CPU hungry - not worth it

The day Vax has no reservations about anything I'll have a heart attack and drop dead.

I have a XP 3 Ghz machine with 1 Giga RAM running XP and Explorer
Gigaherts Schmigahertz... clock speed doesn't mean squat.

However, I would rather have my CPU chugging cycles on something useful instead of the braindamaged idle loops in the Flash engine clock and event scheduler.
__________________
VAXman -- Watcher of the moon, watcher of all.
----------------Mopper of the moon, mopper of all.
-------------------- Aural Moon's Janitorial Services
---------------------and Restroom Supplies, and Techno-patsy --

Cogito ergo iMac.         
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-04-2005, 03:42 PM
Wojtek's Avatar
Wojtek Wojtek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Krakow, Poland
Posts: 333
I prefer X7 to Flash.
I like very much simplicity and climate of current SPC and IMHO some very modern looking chats may have technology but miss that old atmo of AM White Room.
Presence of this is for me the criterion number 1.

Sempron 2800+, 512 RAM, 640 kb broadband, Avant Browser.
__________________
----------------------------------------
Back on duty, hog eat hog
Faffless in the deeeevil's playground
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-04-2005, 04:06 PM
podakayne's Avatar
podakayne podakayne is offline
Patron
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: washington, the state
Posts: 1,430
flash is nice...

but the x7 simpler.


my 2
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-04-2005, 04:12 PM
Rick and Roll's Avatar
Rick and Roll Rick and Roll is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Baltimore suburbs
Posts: 5,039
I prefer the black box, I like to see who's around etc. The white is ok...I'm sure you'll pick the right one.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-04-2005, 04:25 PM
Avian's Avatar
Avian(Admin) Avian is offline
Owner Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Yellow Springs, OH, USA
Posts: 819
Send a message via ICQ to Avian Send a message via AIM to Avian Send a message via Yahoo to Avian
One thing I'm looking into is combining the white and black room, if it's possible. Have this sitting in one pane on the main page that would be the main chatroom. I know people have done this with FlashChat, but I don't think it's a good idea to having to download the flash app and have CPU cycles running right on the main page. I dunno. Maybe it's possible with the X7, too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.