Go Back   Aural Moon - Progressive Rock Discussion > Prog Rock Discussion > Library/Song Corrections and Suggestions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 10-16-2007, 06:29 AM

Song length quota?

As an Aural Moon newbie I realize this may have been discussed before, or I may even be moving into a danger zone by raising this....

I've just requested a wonderfull Tranastlantic song....a very very long song. It took me a long wait and just a few very long songs before it came on. Some of them seemed interesting, some of them seemed very boring and never ending. And then I thought: wait a minute? What if someone finds my 29:40 minute song boring?

I do apreciate that some of the best songs in the genre are 20+ minutes long, however, it can be very tedious if three songs in a row are of the long kind, especially if they are not your cup of tea. While often thought, long songs are not necesarily represantative of what the genre has to offer.

At Aural Moon I have discovered an artist quota: good! I have discovered a personal quota: also good! But wouldn't it give variety, other music and other people a better chance if there would be some sort of personal song length quota?

Suggested personal quota:
1 out of 4 songs 10-15
1 out of 8 songs 15-20
1 out of 12 songs 20+

Go ahead, hate me for my suggestion

And yeah, I am realy realy enjoying listening to 'All of the Above' by Transatlantic, it's on now
Old 10-16-2007, 07:25 AM
progger propellerhead

Location: Presently reside in Jackson (southern) NJ (20 miles east of NEARfest 2002 & 2003
Send a message via AIM to VAXman Send a message via Skype™ to VAXman
Re: Song length quota?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-B View Post
As an Aural Moon newbie I realize this may have been discussed before, or I may even be moving into a danger zone by raising this....