Go Back   Aural Moon - Progressive Rock Discussion > Prog Rock Discussion > General Discussion/Prog News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-04-2003, 03:24 PM

Marillion, Genesis, what's next ???

I need your advice for what another progressive rock band to hear, for orientation my favorites are marillion and genesis (all stages), is there another music group like those

Please giveme yours recomendations !!!!

(sorry for the english but I am just learning)
Old 09-04-2003, 06:58 PM
KeithieW

Welcome!!!!!

Try some early IQ.

Especially "The Wake"!!!!!
Old 09-04-2003, 09:05 PM

So many ways to go!

Discipline
Flower Kings

how many others do you know?
Old 09-04-2003, 11:58 PM

If you want something in the same line, the natural step would be Pendragon , Neo Prog as Marillion with a good keyboardist (Clive Nolan) who plays very much like Tony Banks in Genesis 4 men era.

From all their albums I would try Masquerade Overture , probably their best, if I'm not wrong (probably I am ) Pendragon is one of the last bands to use good old Mellotron.

If you want something more complex than Neo Prog' you could try Magenta , their only album "Revolutions" is really good, like a mixture of Yes and Genesis with a female vocalist that sounds almost like Stevie Nicks (Christina Murphy).

Iván

Last edited by ivan_2068 : 09-05-2003 at 12:02 AM.
Old 09-05-2003, 12:43 PM
KeithieW

I agree Ivan.

Pendragon are an Ace band.

Good songs great musicians and nice guys too.

"Illuvator" are worth a listen too dagallardo75. They have a very good Hammond keyboard sound and a vocalist who could be Fish or Gabriel on another day. Check them out on the AM playlist.
Old 09-05-2003, 01:02 PM

Iluvatar