Go Back   Aural Moon - Progressive Rock Discussion > Prog Rock Discussion > General Discussion/Prog News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

View Poll Results: You are a prog fan. Are you also a musician?
Yes, I am a musician. I play one or more instruments 17 85.00%
No, I am not a musician. I do not play any instruments 3 15.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Old 07-08-2004, 11:41 AM

Are prog fans Musicians?

Thor, KeithieW, Avian, and I were in the white room chatting during a particularly difficult Don Caballero piece where the band was being purposefully dischordant, and we ventured to guess that prog has a higher percentage of musicians as devotees than other forms of rock music. So here's a little poll.

Please also tell what instrument you play if you selected "Yes."
Old 07-08-2004, 11:44 AM

Yes, I am a musician. I play bass and guitar. Primarily bass. I'm pretty decent. As a guitar player, I'm really just a basic rhythm player-not very good.
Old 07-08-2004, 11:50 AM
Patron

Send a message via AIM to Thor
No I'm not a musician... but I am an artist with a good ear and a penchant for music always open to music of all forms from folk to classical and opera to punk and newwave to rock and prog...

Have to say though that "most" pop and rap music is a waste of air space

IMHO

If I did take up an instrument I would say it would be the flute

om namah shivaya
om gan ganapataye namah
om aim saraswataye namah
om shrim mahalaxmaye
Old 07-08-2004, 12:04 PM
Patron

I regret that I am not a musician.

I never got enough training as a kid as we moved around a lot and as soon as I had bulit up enough playing the piano we moved to where there was no piano. So I never got into playing in a band. (COuld never afford it anyway) I've never had a guitar in my life. Plus the problem I'm lefthanded.

I got the ears but not the hands. And I regret it like s**t.
Old 07-08-2004, 12:34 PM
KeithieW

Musicians...........