Login Form

User name


Forgotten your password?
No account yet? Create one

Who's Online

12 members:
· artw
· catskiss
· eastwood
· emjets32
· JamForte
· Laudio9
· nicola
· NorCalKurt
· progdirjim
· progdirjim
· Seikila
· T_berg
· VAXman

Admins · Patrons · Hosts

Newest Members

· Daveydee642320 May
· stqcwg18 May
· anelascahvs59915 May
· TheGrim14 May
· fiberman14 May


Home arrow News arrow Concert News arrow RoSfest 2014 - headliner
RoSfest 2014 - headliner Print E-mail
Written by RogorMortis   
Sunday, 13 October 2013
Collage announced for RoSfest 2014 plus Thank You Scientist

We are overjoyed to announce that Polish band Collage will perform at RoSfest 2014. This fine Polish band were one of the pioneering neo progressive bands, formed back in 1985 and with four classic albums to their name released during the 1990's. Their specific style, with the guitar style of Mirek Gil as a strong mark of identity, and unique melodic songwriting of both band founders and leaders Wojtek Szadkowski and Mirek Gil made them a household name among just about everyone with a specific interest in neo progressive and symphonic progressive rock back then.

Collage disbanded in 1996, and the principal members have since formed other bands that have gained a strong following: Believe, Satellite and Strawberry Fields the best known of these. One might say that Collage inspired and to some extent fuelled what is today described as the Polish progressive rock scene, their specific take on this type of music one that have inspired a plethora of Polish bands, this in addition to the bands that was formed by its members after they disbanded. Come 2013 and the members of Collage decided that it was time to reform the band. Karol Wrobleski (vocals), Mirek Gil (guitars), Krzyƛ Palczewski (keyboards), Piotr Mintay Witkowski (bass) and Wojtek Szadkowski (drums) are back together again, with a new album in the making and an initial small tour in the planning.

We are especially proud that the official reunion concert of Collage will be at RoSfest 2014. For such a classic band with such a history, it is a true honor that they will be performing their reunion concert as the Saturday night headliner at RoSfest 2014. A historic event for us, our audience and the band.

Thank You Scientist
RoSfest is thrilled to announce US band THANK YOU SCIENTIST as the third band on Sunday for RoSfest 2014. This seven man strong unit started out in 2009, and has made quite a name for themselves in the live circuit in the following years. Describing themselves as a seven headed monster, other sources describe the band as a fairly eclectic unit that joyfully blend elements from jazz and fusion into a progressive rock framework, adding a touch of metal as additional flavoring.

Thank You Scientist released their first EP "The Perils of Time Travel" in 2011, but it wasn't until they released their full length album "Maps of Non-Existent Places" the following year that the band really started garnering a lot of attention. Salvatore Marrano (vocals), Tom Monda (guitars), Greg Colacino (bass), Odin Alvarez (drums), Russell Lynch (violin), Ellis Jasenovic (saxophone) and Andrew Digrius (trumpet) will be quite the presence on stage just from sheer numbers, and with music that combines the variety of bands such as The Mars Volta, the intensity of bands like Dream Theater and adds a distinct jazz rock atmosphere into one tight package they should make a huge impact musically as well.

After their energetic, mind blowing, and very well received performance at ProgDay over Labor Day, 2013, we knew that this band would fit right in to the RoSfest environment. We’re truly looking forward to experiencing Thank You Scientist live on our stage. The five o'clock concert on Saturday May 3rd will go down in history as one of the top "you should have been there" concerts in the annals of RoSfest.

Last Updated ( Sunday, 13 October 2013 )
< Prev   Next >
© 2007-2014 Aural Moon -- No content from this site may be copied to tangible media without prior written consent.