Login Form

User name


Forgotten your password?
No account yet? Create one

Who's Online

9 members:
· artw
· cs80fred
· JamForte
· Mange
· mariocc
· mariocc
· progdirjim
· Seikila
· skitzdout
· VAXman

Admins · Patrons · Hosts

Newest Members

· Daveydee642320 May
· stqcwg18 May
· anelascahvs59915 May
· TheGrim14 May
· fiberman14 May


Home arrow News arrow Music News arrow THE PINEAPPLE THIEF
Written by RogorMortis   
Thursday, 24 July 2014

10th studio album out September 16 via Kscope



ENGLAND - The Pineapple Thief has announced details of its new album, Magnolia, due for release in North America on September 16 via Kscope. Magnolia follows acclaimed 2012 album, All The Wars, and marks an important turning point for the band, as it expands its musical horizons beyond the progressive sphere.

Recorded at Snap Studios and mixed at Strongroom Studios in London, Magnolia represents the ultimate culmination of songwriter and guitarist Bruce Soord's ongoing quest to raise spirits and connect. A devastating yet uplifting collection of 12 beautifully crafted songs, it showcases the band's intuitive chemistry and soulful demeanor, cramming a vast array of emotional shades and inspirational ideas into its 47 mesmerizing minutes. Veering from the strident opening assault of "Simple As That," due to be the first single, through to the cinematic sweep of the closing track "Bond," it marks an important step in the band's story, while skillfully encapsulating everything that has made its musical journey such a relentlessly fascinating one.

"All I ever wanted was to write catchy songs that stay with people," commented founder Bruce Soord, explaining how this record represents an important evolutionary phase for The Pineapple Thief. "The striking thing is that there are no long tunes... all I care about now is writing a good song. I don't think about whether it's rock or progressive or commercial or anything like that. As time went on, I discovered I could say everything I wanted to say within a shorter period of time."

New drummer Dan Osborne, also heavily involved in the production of Magnolia, brought fresh energy and ideas to The Pineapple Thief, strongly contributing to steer the band in a new direction. Completing the line-up are solid bassist Jon Sykes and keyboard maestro Steve Kitch. While string arrangements are courtesy of regular collaborator Andrew Skeet of The Divine Comedy, the stunning final mix was crafted by mix engineer Adam Noble, who has previously worked on albums from the likes of Placebo, Guillemots, Paul McCartney, Robbie Williams and Belgium alt rock band dEUS. The artwork for Magnolia was created by French artist Patrick Gonzales (http://www.patrickgonzales.net).



1.       Simple as That (04:01)

2.       Alone at Sea (05:21)

3.       Don't Tell Me (03:35)

4.       Magnolia (03:47)

5.       Seasons Past (04:14)

6.       Coming Home (03:06)

7.       The One You Left to Die (04:19)

8.       Breathe (02:35)

9.       From Me (04:31)

10.     Sense of Fear (04:31)

11.     A Loneliness (03:22)

12.     Bond (04:31)

Formed in 1999 by founder and chief songwriter Bruce Soord as an experimental bedroom project, The Pineapple Thief has since continued to evolve and refine its sound. The group is seen by many as one of the most interesting and innovative rock bands the U.K. has produced in recent years. Previous albums like Someone Here Is Missing (2010) and All The Wars (2012) have made The Pineapple Thief's reputation and fan base stronger, resulting in interest from a wider audience. Bruce Soord also collaborates with other Kscope artists, joining forces with Jonas Renkse of Swedish band Katatonia on their critically acclaimed Wisdom Of Crowds project. Along with this collaboration, we saw Soord join Katatonia on their recent "Dethroned & Uncrowned - Unplugged & Reworked" acoustic European tour. 

With a new, blossoming sound, Magnolia has all the potential to bring The Pineapple Thief to the masses. This, the band's 10th record, could not only be a milestone, but also a mainstream breakthrough for the band. With Magnolia, The Pineapple Thief has created 12 musical gems that defy all classifications - anthemic, catchy, intense, honest and straight from the heart.

The Pineapple Thief is...

Bruce Soord - vocals, guitar
Dan Osborne - drums
Jon Sykes - bass
Steve Kitch - keyboards

< Prev   Next >
© 2007-2014 Aural Moon -- No content from this site may be copied to tangible media without prior written consent.