Login Form

User name


Forgotten your password?
No account yet? Create one

Who's Online

10 members:
· atagwatches
· Avian
· cs80fred
· dolchadodarr
· isalewigscorp
· mrwickey
· Musicnut
· progdirjim
· traffic
· VAXman

Admins · Patrons · Hosts

8 guests:
· ×2
· ×2

Newest Members

· re41night23 May
· AuralEye21 May
· rossi20 May
· ArgentStar19 May
· trotskyist19 May


Home arrow News arrow Music News arrow Nine Stones Close
Nine Stones Close Print E-mail
Written by RogorMortis   
Sunday, 14 February 2016
Nine Stones Close sign to BEM and announce fourth album. Bad Elephant Music is proud to announce the latest addition to their lineup: Anglo-Dutch neo-progressive outfit Nine Stones Close.

Conceived in 2008 as a solo project by guitarist Adrian Jones, Nine Stones Close quickly grew into a fully-fledged band with their acclaimed second album Traces, listed among Prog Magazine’s top 20 albums of 2011. Returning with a refreshed lineup after a four-year hiatus following their last album, 2012’s One Eye on the Sunrise, the band’s fourth studio album, Leaves, puts a new twist on an already unique and distinctive sound: rich, elegant soundscapes with a subtle psychedelic edge.

Says Jones himself: “Nine Stones Close are delighted to be joining such a vibrant and forward thinking label who are passionate about their music, their artists, and working together to deliver great music to as many people as possible. We are really excited about working together with BEM on the release of our forthcoming album!”

David Elliott of BEM adds: “Nine Stones Close are a band that really do resist pigeonholing. I’ve been following them since the beginning and I’m excited to see this latest development in their musical evolution, and overjoyed to have them joining the Bad Elephant family.”

Leaves is scheduled for release in late spring, 2016. In the meantime a digital single, Complicated is available for purchase via Bandcamp . The single comes with a ‘B side’, an acoustic version of the title track from One Eye On The Sunrise, featuring new vocalist Aio O’Shaughnessy.

Nine Stones Close
Nine Stones Close was conceived in 2008 as a solo project by Adrian Jones (Numb, Lie Big, Jet Black Sea): the first CD, St Lo, was independently released in the Netherlands. After heavy airplay on The Rogues’ Gallery on The Dividing Line Network, he received critical acclaim and visibility which inspired him to create the 2010 follow up Traces. The project grew into a band for Traces when Adrian joined up with Brendan Eyre (Riversea), Marc Atkinson (Mandalaband, Riversea), and Neil Quarrell.

One Eye on the Sunrise saw a further evolution of the band with returning members Marc Atkinson and Brendan Eyre now joined by Peter Vink on bass (Q65/Ayreon/Star One/Finch) and on drums Pieter van Hoorn (Knight Area). The result was a sonic treat with truly soaring moments on tracks such as Frozen Moment, A Secret, The Weight, and the majestic title track. Work began almost immediately on the follow up to One Eye on the Sunrise; unfortunately, due to unrelated consecutive delays and unforeseen circumstances, this took much longer than expected.

Fast forward to 2016, and a new line up; Nine Stones Close are now full strength and raring to go with Adrian Jones and Pieter van Hoorn now joined by vocalist Adrian (Aio) O'Shaughnessy (Psychic For Radio, Frame Shift), Christiaan Bruin on keyboards (Sky Architect, Mayra Orchestra, and The Black Codex amongst others) and Peter Groen on bass (A New Dawn). With Paul van Zeeland again at the mixing desk, the chemistry has taken the band in some interesting new directions; a wide and rich soundscape continues to evolve. This is a sound not easy to pigeonhole, and the band like it that way.
< Prev   Next >
© 2007-2014 Aural Moon -- No content from this site may be copied to tangible media without prior written consent.